mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Library-ing Problem in Motif XS8"

     
Posted on: March 18, 2019 @ 02:14 PM
Kahnn
Total Posts:  50
Joined  05-28-2011
status: Regular

Hi back, folks!
I have 4 questions; any help will be appreciated. ;)
I have an XS8 with 1GB (512+512Mb) DIMM Modules installed and more than 2 sound packages (sets) one of which needs to load +/-500 Megabytes of samples, while the other(s) requires no samples (thus, primarily using waveforms that come with the XS). Both packages have Voices+Performances, and the performances are mostly driven by the voices within each package. Now:

1) What is the most convenient way to load (and move) those voices and the performances to the User Banks that I desire them to be? And in what way can I keep the established connection between voices and performances?

2) How can I load two or more sound packages (sets) into my XS8, so that I can use all simultaneously?

3) How can I autoload that set?

4) When XS8 is connected to my MacBook Pro through firewire400, any kind of autoloading procedure that needs several minutes prevents XS8 connecting to the Mac (Some kind of ‘connection time-out’ problem, I guess). So, do I have to first start up the XS, then start the computer each time to avoid the problem, or is there another way?

Thanks in advance!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 18, 2019 @ 03:55 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  10822
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend
Kahnn - 18 March 2019 02:14 PM

Hi back, folks!
I have 4 questions; any help will be appreciated. ;)
I have an XS8 with 1GB (512+512Mb) DIMM Modules installed and more than 2 sound packages (sets) one of which needs to load +/-500 Megabytes of samples, while the other(s) requires no samples (thus, primarily using waveforms that come with the XS). Both packages have Voices+Performances, and the performances are mostly driven by the voices within each package. Now:

1) What is the most convenient way to load (and move) those voices and the performances to the User Banks that I desire them to be? And in what way can I keep the established connection between voices and performances?

2) How can I load two or more sound packages (sets) into my XS8, so that I can use all simultaneously?

A) I suggest that you first load the library having no samples, as Type “all”. Make note of which User Voice and Performance Banks this library uses.

B) Next load the library having the samples, as Type “all”. Again, make note of which User Voice and Performance Banks this library uses.

C) Next, load the Voice Bank noted in step “A” from the library having no samples, as Type “voice”, into a Bank other than the one determined in step “B” - if possible, into the original Bank found in step “A”. Here’s how to do that by setting the Voice number to “all”:
http://www.motifator.com/index.php/support/view/how_to_load_a_bank_of_128_voices

D) Finally, load the Performances from the library having no samples, as Type “performance”. Again, use the previously determined Bank information. As when loading the Voice Bank, set the Performance number to “all” so that 128 will load.

E) Be sure to SAVE an “all” file with sample to a USB flash drive.

If you’re lucky, the Bank assignments will work out so that the Voice and Performance associations will be correct. Otherwise, you may have to manually correct them, STORE any changes, and SAVE the “all” file again.

 

Kahnn -

3) How can I autoload that set?

4) When XS8 is connected to my MacBook Pro through firewire400, any kind of autoloading procedure that needs several minutes prevents XS8 connecting to the Mac (Some kind of ‘connection time-out’ problem, I guess). So, do I have to first start up the XS, then start the computer each time to avoid the problem, or is there another way?

Thanks in advance!

Using a USB flash drive, as per this:
http://www.motifator.com/index.php/support/view/motif_xs_auto_load

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 18, 2019 @ 04:20 PM
Kahnn
Total Posts:  50
Joined  05-28-2011
status: Regular

Thank you very much for your time and fast response. I’m doing the steps right away.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 25, 2019 @ 08:48 PM
Kahnn
Total Posts:  50
Joined  05-28-2011
status: Regular

Good news!

I’ve managed to make my own mixed user sets: my user sets of voices and performances. Now my user banks include default sets + sets edited by me + sample based sets + non-sample sets, the last 2 purchased.

Then I should:
1) save an autoload file
2) turn on the autoload function
3) choose that autoload file from step one
4) [Store]
5) Save this to the autoload file by overwriting
but since I forgot step 4 and 5, XS didn’t autoload anything. :)

Then I figured it out, and voila! That was the only problem.

Thank you for your time and assistance, 5pin DIN!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 26, 2019 @ 07:35 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  10822
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend
Kahnn - 25 March 2019 08:48 PM

Good news!

I’ve managed to make my own mixed user sets: my user sets of voices and performances. Now my user banks include default sets + sets edited by me + sample based sets + non-sample sets, the last 2 purchased.

Once done, it becomes obvious why spending the time to create a custom “All” file is worth the effort. Congratulations!

 

Kahnn -

Then I should:
1) save an autoload file
2) turn on the autoload function
3) choose that autoload file from step one
4) [Store]
5) Save this to the autoload file by overwriting
but since I forgot step 4 and 5, XS didn’t autoload anything. :)

Then I figured it out, and voila! That was the only problem.

Thank you for your time and assistance, 5pin DIN!

You’re welcome!

  [ Ignore ]  


 
     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ Budget options for Grid/Drum recording mode.
Next Topic:

    Record Midi data from Motif ››