mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Motif-Rack ES Firmware upgrade 1.03 What MIDI File Player for PC"

   
Page 1 of 2
Posted on: November 22, 2018 @ 09:54 AM
magicaldog
Total Posts:  13
Joined  04-11-2007
status: Regular

Hello

I have downloaded the 3141x64 driver and tried playing the firm103.mid midi file with a program called MIDI-OX but it just don’t work.

Also tried to import the file into my DAW Studio One 4 but it just wont work and the file wont load into Studio One.

What MIDI player are you PC users using for the firmware upgrade ?

Thanks !

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 22, 2018 @ 11:28 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  10547
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend

Have you tried Windows Media Player?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 23, 2018 @ 11:13 AM
magicaldog
Total Posts:  13
Joined  04-11-2007
status: Regular
5pinDIN - 22 November 2018 11:28 AM

Have you tried Windows Media Player?

I am on Win 10 and have tried WMP to no avail !

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 23, 2018 @ 12:12 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  10547
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend

While attempting to do the update, what’s displayed on the Rack’s LCD screen?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 24, 2018 @ 10:52 AM
magicaldog
Total Posts:  13
Joined  04-11-2007
status: Regular
5pinDIN - 23 November 2018 12:12 PM

While attempting to do the update, what’s displayed on the Rack’s LCD screen?

Just the info that is presented when you go into Firmware update mode but there is no progress info !

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 24, 2018 @ 12:36 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  10547
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend

Is there any indication for “Current Packet” at all?

If not (sorry, this may be obvious)…
Make sure that the USB connection from the computer is direct - no hubs. Also verify that MIDI IN/OUT in Utility mode is set to “USB”.

If those things are correct, the only other thing I can think of is whether the output port of WMP (or other sequencers) is set correctly to target the Rack ES USB MIDI Port 1 - it will be something like “Yamaha Motif-R ES-1”.

I don’t run Windows 10, so offhand I can’t tell you how to set the WMP default MIDI playback device for it. That information can likely be found via a search on the net.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 25, 2018 @ 07:38 AM
magicaldog
Total Posts:  13
Joined  04-11-2007
status: Regular
5pinDIN - 24 November 2018 12:36 PM

Is there any indication for “Current Packet” at all?

If not (sorry, this may be obvious)…
Make sure that the USB connection from the computer is direct - no hubs. Also verify that MIDI IN/OUT in Utility mode is set to “USB”.

If those things are correct, the only other thing I can think of is whether the output port of WMP (or other sequencers) is set correctly to target the Rack ES USB MIDI Port 1 - it will be something like “Yamaha Motif-R ES-1”.

I don’t run Windows 10, so offhand I can’t tell you how to set the WMP default MIDI playback device for it. That information can likely be found via a search on the net.

All those things are correct !

The only thing I can’t find is how set the output device on WMP (I’ve tried both the latest version and the Classic)

There is a Gazillion settings but none that is about output device/port.

In Studio One 4 I could choose the ports for Motif Rack but importing the .mid file from Yamaha failed.

Is it really worth all the effort to upgrade to 1.03 ?

Is there any significant improvement with 1.03 ?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 25, 2018 @ 08:00 AM
magicaldog
Total Posts:  13
Joined  04-11-2007
status: Regular

I found the output settings but there are only audio devices in the list and no USB or MIDI ports.

Back to square 1 :(

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 25, 2018 @ 11:53 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  10547
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend

From the Readme file that comes with the OS update:
What’s new in this update?
[V1.02 to V1.03]
- Improved the performance of Total Recall.
- Solved some small problems.

[to V1.02]
- Improved the default value of the Bypass from ON to OFF to be applied the Master Effect when turning on the power.
- Corrections made to an error in operating Arpeggiator while using the MIDI terminal.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 25, 2018 @ 03:02 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  10547
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend
magicaldog - 25 November 2018 08:00 AM

I found the output settings but there are only audio devices in the list and no USB or MIDI ports.

Back to square 1 :(

You might find this of interest:
https://coolsoft.altervista.org/en/blog/2013/03/what-happened-midi-mapper-windows-8

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 26, 2018 @ 05:07 AM
magicaldog
Total Posts:  13
Joined  04-11-2007
status: Regular
5pinDIN - 25 November 2018 03:02 PM
magicaldog - 25 November 2018 08:00 AM

I found the output settings but there are only audio devices in the list and no USB or MIDI ports.

Back to square 1 :(

You might find this of interest:
https://coolsoft.altervista.org/en/blog/2013/03/what-happened-midi-mapper-windows-8

Sorry but that is Greek to me !

I managed to install my old Cubase 5 and that seemed to be working at least initially.

The file seemed to be loading like this “Current Packet: **********h” and it took about 20 minutes and then it starts reading in the received data ( which according to the documentation should take about a minute ) it is taking a lot more than one minute and stops at “Current Packet: 00005C00h”

It’s been sitting there for several minutes now !

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 26, 2018 @ 07:22 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  10547
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend
magicaldog - 26 November 2018 05:07 AM
5pinDIN - 25 November 2018 03:02 PM
magicaldog - 25 November 2018 08:00 AM

I found the output settings but there are only audio devices in the list and no USB or MIDI ports.

Back to square 1 :(

You might find this of interest:
https://coolsoft.altervista.org/en/blog/2013/03/what-happened-midi-mapper-windows-8

Sorry but that is Greek to me !

The web page I linked to addresses what you were concerned about, the lack of a MIDI Mapper in Windows 8 and beyond (Win 10). It further links to…
https://coolsoft.altervista.org/en/midimapper
...which has a download for a replacement for MIDI Mapper.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 26, 2018 @ 09:44 AM
magicaldog
Total Posts:  13
Joined  04-11-2007
status: Regular
5pinDIN - 26 November 2018 07:22 AM
magicaldog - 26 November 2018 05:07 AM
5pinDIN - 25 November 2018 03:02 PM
magicaldog - 25 November 2018 08:00 AM

I found the output settings but there are only audio devices in the list and no USB or MIDI ports.

Back to square 1 :(

You might find this of interest:
https://coolsoft.altervista.org/en/blog/2013/03/what-happened-midi-mapper-windows-8

Sorry but that is Greek to me !

The web page I linked to addresses what you were concerned about, the lack of a MIDI Mapper in Windows 8 and beyond (Win 10). It further links to…
https://coolsoft.altervista.org/en/midimapper
...which has a download for a replacement for MIDI Mapper.

I downloaded it but couldn’t find any settings for MIDI/USB in WMP 12 after that !

I played the midi file in Cubase one more time and the Motifs display showed the proper info the first 20 minutes loading the file but what should take 1 minute after that was taking so long I had to leave it on while going out of town !

I’ll be back home on Thursday and will see if there has been any progress.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 26, 2018 @ 10:51 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  10547
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend
magicaldog - 26 November 2018 09:44 AM
5pinDIN - 26 November 2018 07:22 AM

The web page I linked to addresses what you were concerned about, the lack of a MIDI Mapper in Windows 8 and beyond (Win 10). It further links to…
https://coolsoft.altervista.org/en/midimapper
...which has a download for a replacement for MIDI Mapper.

I downloaded it but couldn’t find any settings for MIDI/USB in WMP 12 after that !

The CoolSoft MIDIMapper doesn’t add that capability within WMP. After installing MIDIMapper, run it and set the default MIDI device to the Rack ES Port 1. Then run WMP, which should direct MIDI data to the default device you set in MIDIMapper.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 26, 2018 @ 11:24 AM
magicaldog
Total Posts:  13
Joined  04-11-2007
status: Regular
5pinDIN - 26 November 2018 10:51 AM
magicaldog - 26 November 2018 09:44 AM
5pinDIN - 26 November 2018 07:22 AM

The web page I linked to addresses what you were concerned about, the lack of a MIDI Mapper in Windows 8 and beyond (Win 10). It further links to…
https://coolsoft.altervista.org/en/midimapper
...which has a download for a replacement for MIDI Mapper.

I downloaded it but couldn’t find any settings for MIDI/USB in WMP 12 after that !

The CoolSoft MIDIMapper doesn’t doesn’t add that capability within WMP. After installing MIDIMapper, run it and set the default MIDI device to the Rack ES Port 1. Then run WMP, which should direct MIDI data to the default device you set in MIDIMapper.

Thanks

I will try it on Thursday when I come home !

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 28, 2018 @ 04:30 PM
magicaldog
Total Posts:  13
Joined  04-11-2007
status: Regular

It worked !

Thanks a MILLION !

Cheers !

  [ Ignore ]  


Page 1 of 2


     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ Performance: mute a voice
Next Topic:

    Editor ES Rack - What do I need to get going ? ››