mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Help with starting XS in user bank mode and other questions from a blind musician."

Posted on: August 05, 2018 @ 05:36 PM
BlindJayP
Total Posts:  2
Joined  08-03-2018

Hello all
I’ve been a user of the Motif XS since it was released, recently changed my studio a few years ago and picked up a Rack XS instead.  I’ve been looking around for a while for a place to ask some questions so I hope someone can assist me.
As the subject says, I am a blind musician.  Luckily, some other blind users interested in the motif took very detailed notes on what buttons do what and menu layout so I’ve been able to use it.  For example, most menus from what I remember didn’t rap so no matter how many times I pressed the cursor down button, the cursor would stay at whatever selection was highlighted.
Regarding the Rack XS.  I will first be using it with a Native Instruments s61 keyboard as a controller connected to a midi interface.  I can obtain sighted assistance in assigning the buttons on the keyboard to various controller messages, which I assume I have to do for the 2 assignable function buttons which made keyswitch style changes to presets in the XS.  I also assume I would have to have 2 buttons assigned as toggles and 2 more where you can hold them down for on and release them for off?  The manual states those are controllers 86 and 87?  In the assignment program, you can also specify 0-127 values for the messages, do those have to be set a certain way?  You can also assign the knobs on the keyboard, does anyone know what the XS ribbon controller is assigned to?  This keyboard does have what feels like a ribbon strip and it can send control change messages so maybe it can work instead.