mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Initiating a SysEx MIDI dump"

     
Posted on: March 27, 2018 @ 02:34 AM
Airlane1979
Total Posts:  11
Joined  12-03-2017
status: Regular

How do I send a MIDI SysEx dump of all MX settings to Cubase? There appears to be no function for sending, only for receiving in the MX.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 27, 2018 @ 05:07 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  10111
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend

Bulk Dumps can be sent for both Voices and Performances, as Jobs. See pages 53 and 55 of the MX Reference Manual (http://download.yamaha.com/file/57924).

Specific Bulk Dumps can also be requested via SysEx. See Bulk Dump Block on page 57 of the MX Data List (http://download.yamaha.com/file/57920).

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 27, 2018 @ 07:32 AM
Airlane1979
Total Posts:  11
Joined  12-03-2017
status: Regular

Thanks, 5pinDIN. I see that the MX only allows a dump of one Performance or one Voice. I’m surprised that there seems to be no function for dumping the whole settings of the synth, as I’ve done before with much older gear. Even the TX81Z, of which I had two back in the 1980s, had that function. I dumped the settings into an Atari 1080ST. Ah, black and white screens…

As I know you are an expert, can you answer this: why has my MX keyboard started playing both the Part I’ve selected plus several others together? The MX is connected via USB to my laptop running Cubase. When I play the MX by MIDI from another keyboard, I get only the selected part. I’ve tried lots of different settings changes but to no effect. That’s why I wanted to dump all the settings, so I could try a Factory Reset.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: March 27, 2018 @ 10:06 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  10111
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend
Airlane1979 - 27 March 2018 07:32 AM

Thanks, 5pinDIN.

You’re welcome.

 

Airlane1979 -

I see that the MX only allows a dump of one Performance or one Voice. I’m surprised that there seems to be no function for dumping the whole settings of the synth, as I’ve done before with much older gear.

All the data in User memory can be saved to a USB flash drive, just not as SysEx. It’s saved an an “All"/X5A file. See Saving settings to USB flash memory on page 36 of the Owner’s Manual PDF (http://download.yamaha.com/file/57917).

 

Airlane1979 -

Even the TX81Z, of which I had two back in the 1980s, had that function. I dumped the settings into an Atari 1080ST. Ah, black and white screens…

TX81Z files were about 4kB in size, and at the speed of MIDI took about 1-2 seconds to transfer. An MX “All” file is about 570kB, via MIDI would probably take around 3.5 minutes (or more, depending on pacing), and might choke some MIDI utilities.

 

Airlane1979 -

As I know you are an expert,

Note that I never claimed to be an “expert”. An expert is someone who seems to have all the answers - until they don’t.
;-)

 

Airlane1979 -

can you answer this: why has my MX keyboard started playing both the Part I’ve selected plus several others together? The MX is connected via USB to my laptop running Cubase. When I play the MX by MIDI from another keyboard, I get only the selected part. I’ve tried lots of different settings changes but to no effect. That’s why I wanted to dump all the settings, so I could try a Factory Reset.

Depending on how you have things routed, the problem could be due to either an MX setting or Cubase configuration. I don’t use Cubase, and I don’t have an MX, so I can’t be specific.

One thing you can check on the MX is whether it’s set up properly for DAW operation. See QuickSetup on page 68 of the Reference Manual.

There are support articles for setting up Cubase:
http://www.motifator.com/index.php/support/mx_articles/

  [ Ignore ]