mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Mainstage 3 doesn’t see Motif ES"

     
Posted on: May 02, 2017 @ 05:28 PM
chensa
Total Posts:  70
Joined  08-04-2004
status: Experienced

Hi, I haven’t purchased an audio interface yet, so I’m just coming out the port of my Yamaha to the Computer USB.  I’ve downloaded the driver too.  Mainstage just doesn’t recognize my keyboard.

Just for giggles, I tried the exact same with my Kronos and it works fine.

What gives?

Thanks.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 03, 2017 @ 05:23 AM
meatballfulton
Avatar
Total Posts:  3016
Joined  01-25-2005
status: Guru

Mainstage doesn’t recognize the MIDI or it doesn’t recognize the audio? Kronos does have audio over USB.

I had no such problems with either my ES or my XF.

On your Mac, open up Utilities/Audio MIDI Setup and see if the ES is visible. If it is not, then something went wrong with the driver installation.  The correct driver is the USB-MIDI Driver (whatever version matches your OS) which works with all Yamaha devices.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 03, 2017 @ 04:53 PM
chensa
Total Posts:  70
Joined  08-04-2004
status: Experienced

The ES is NOT visible in the Audio MIDI setup.  I thought I downloaded the most current version of the driver and I would have thought it would have installed where ever it was supposed to install.  Do you suggest uninstalling?  Then let it install again in the hopes it works?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 03, 2017 @ 05:29 PM
philwoodmusic
Avatar
Total Posts:  819
Joined  07-01-2013
status: Guru

Hi chensa,

What version of Mac OS are you running?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 03, 2017 @ 05:51 PM
chensa
Total Posts:  70
Joined  08-04-2004
status: Experienced

El Capitan

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 04, 2017 @ 01:38 AM
meatballfulton
Avatar
Total Posts:  3016
Joined  01-25-2005
status: Guru

You should be using USB-MIDI Driver V1.3.2 for Mac (10.5.8 / 10.6.8 / 10.7.5 / 10.8.x / 10.9.x / 10.10.x / 10.11.x / 10.12.x)

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 04, 2017 @ 03:22 PM
chensa
Total Posts:  70
Joined  08-04-2004
status: Experienced

So I uninstalled the driver and re-installed it.  Restarted my computer.  Plugged it in, started my Yamaha..aaaaaaand still nothing.

Is there something in the utilities???

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 04, 2017 @ 04:13 PM
chensa
Total Posts:  70
Joined  08-04-2004
status: Experienced

Is there a possibility that there is something broken on the port on the keyboard?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 05, 2017 @ 04:12 AM
meatballfulton
Avatar
Total Posts:  3016
Joined  01-25-2005
status: Guru

In Utilities do you have MIDI set to USB?

[UTILITY] → [F5] MIDI → [SF4] OTHER → MIDI IN/OUT

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: May 05, 2017 @ 11:04 AM
chensa
Total Posts:  70
Joined  08-04-2004
status: Experienced

yup, tried that.  Nothing…

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: July 24, 2017 @ 04:51 PM
chensa
Total Posts:  70
Joined  08-04-2004
status: Experienced

Ok, I gave up and just used my Kronos which WORKS FINE!

But I’d really like to figure out why I can’t get my Motif ES 6 to work with Mainstage.

Any suggestions on who I should talk to?  I’m sure Apple will say Yamaha and Yamaha will say Apple.... :(

  [ Ignore ]  


 
     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ MIDI problem
Next Topic:

    ES8 Display - replace, or take in for diagnosis? ››