mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "MOXF with DIY ribbon controller"

Posted on: March 25, 2015 @ 05:37 PM
agentaero
Total Posts:  9
Joined  02-02-2015

Hi all,

I am looking to add on a ribbon controller to my fairly newly purchased MOXF. I am pretty new to the whole world of synth/MIDI so I’m not too sure how complex this might be or of the obstacles I might be facing, so any insight or knowledge to add on the subject would be really appreciated.

My plan is to use a softpot (eg. https://www.sparkfun.com/products/8681) with a microcontroller board like an Arduino. I’ve already got it all setup so that my microcontroller can transduce the touches on my softpot from -64 to +63, ready to send over serial(ie. MIDI). I believe this is the range expected by the MOXF for a ribbon controller. What’s left is getting these values, via MIDI message, to my MOXF.

As far as hardware goes, all the circuit stuff is done, based on the MIDI spec. I’m confident voltages, baud rate, etc are all good. My microcontroller will connect its serial port to the MOXF’s midi in port.

Now what I am wondering is sending a ribbon controller message as simple as just firing controller change messages? That is, referencing p. 120 in the MOXF data list manual, can I just fire the following message to my MOXF on midi channel 1 over and over again B1H 16H 0vvvvvvv where V would be the values from the ribbon controller between 0 and 127 and the MOX would interpret these to be between -64 to +63. Or is this too simplistic and incorrect? Getting this to work just on voice mode for now would be fine to start.