mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Infinite factory reset problem…."

     
Posted on: October 11, 2014 @ 08:16 AM
f_k_s18@hotmail.com
Total Posts:  38
Joined  03-15-2004
status: Regular

I clicked UTILITY->JOB then check the Factory Reset on startup and then clicked STORE.

Everytime i reboot my Motif XF the synth Factory Resets itself!

I went back to UTILITY->JOB and unchecked the factory restore option and clicked STORE.

If I go back into the menu right after ...that is ...UTILITY->JOB I see the check boxes automatically checked again.

My XF is factory resetting itself all the time. Please help me solve this problem. Thanks.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: October 11, 2014 @ 09:05 AM
cmayhle
Total Posts:  3116
Joined  10-05-2011
status: Guru
f_k_s18@hotmail.com - 11 October 2014 08:16 AM

I clicked UTILITY->JOB then check the Factory Reset on startup and then clicked STORE.

Everytime i reboot my Motif XF the synth Factory Resets itself!


I went back to UTILITY->JOB and unchecked the factory restore option and clicked STORE.

If I go back into the menu right after ...that is ...UTILITY->JOB I see the check boxes automatically checked again.

My XF is factory resetting itself all the time. Please help me solve this problem. Thanks.

From page 18 of the XF Owner’s Manual:

When entering a checkmark to the box of the Power On Auto
Factory Set and executing the Factory Set, the Factory Set
will automatically be executed each time turning the power
on. Keep in mind that this also means that your original data
in Flash ROM will be erased each time you turn on the power.
Therefore, the checkmark of this box should normally be
removed. If you remove the checkmark of this box and
execute the Factory Set
, the Factory Set will not be executed
when turning the power on next time
.

Reference the sentence colored in red.

After you remove the check mark, execute the Factory Set to establish the desired condition.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: October 11, 2014 @ 01:48 PM
f_k_s18@hotmail.com
Total Posts:  38
Joined  03-15-2004
status: Regular

Thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! it worked :-)

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: October 13, 2014 @ 02:36 AM
dagge63
Total Posts:  4
Joined  07-25-2010
status: Newcomer

Hi,

I have exactly the same problem but have not been able to solve it. It seems as though it looses all stored information on powerdown, and allways reloads factory set.

Can it be something wrong with the factory installed flash rom?

I just bought this used XF8.

Help someone?

Regards
Dag

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: October 13, 2014 @ 04:44 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  11891
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend
dagge63 - 13 October 2014 02:36 AM

Hi,

I have exactly the same problem but have not been able to solve it. It seems as though it looses all information on powerdown, and allways reloads factory set.
Can it be at backup-battery problem?[...]

Welcome to the forum.

There is no backup battery. User data is stored in a flash ROM - see the Memory Structure diagram on page 35 of the XF Reference Manual. There are a few possible scenarios…

If you’re seeing Now executing Factory set... when the XF boots up:
1) You might not be following the details of the procedure in the XF Owner’s Manual.
2) You might be loading an “All” file which contains the selection to do a factory reset.
3) You might have a USB drive connected, and are using Auto Load. See page 223 of the XF Reference Manual if you’re not familiar with Auto Load.
4) Your XF8 might be defective.

If you’re not seeing Now executing Factory set... when the XF boots up:
5) You might not be executing the STORE function when needed.

For #1, reread cmayhle‘s post.
For #2, don’t load the “All” file until you have corrected the factory reset issue, then resave an “All” file.
For #3, turn off Auto Load, remove any drive connected to the TO DEVICE port, and follow the Factory Set procedure in the Owner’s Manual.
For #4, have the XF8 serviced. However, this is very, very, very unlikely. (Did I use “very” enough?  :-) )
For #5, after making changes to data (editing, etc.), press the [STORE} button.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: October 13, 2014 @ 07:56 AM
dagge63
Total Posts:  4
Joined  07-25-2010
status: Newcomer

Yes!! after a few powerups i tested with the “All” option checked and the “power On Auto Set” unchecked. And it finally worked. I’m so happy cause I really love the instrument otherwise.

Thanks 5pinDIN!!

/Dag

  [ Ignore ]  


 
     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ Can MIDI from DAW be translated to Song data on XF8?
Next Topic:

    Cubase Drum Maps ››