mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "MOXF6 vs MX61 Need advice"

Posted on: September 26, 2014 @ 08:03 PM
Drums&
Total Posts:  14
Joined  01-23-2014

I am retired aerospace engineer.  By my handle that you see I was a pro drummer for 18 years through the 60’s until 1983.  I recently purchased a Hammond SK2, JBL 305s near field monitors and a Yamaha MG10XU mixer for my home studio.  I know that there is a sequencer in the MOXF. The MX61 does not.  If I have cubase running on a laptop hooked up to my MX61 what am I losing out on by not having the built in sequencer?
MOXF = $1200 MX = $700.

2nd senario: I purchase a MOXF8 and a MX61 then can I use the MOXF8 as my controller and workstation and utilize the MX61 for it’s syn velocity keyboard and save myself $500 vs the MOXF6?

Thanks,

Bill

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: September 30, 2014 @ 06:21 AM
min3008
Total Posts:  129
Joined  12-08-2012

Hi Bill. I’ve tried the mx6 and I have to say I didn’t like it anywhere near as much as the motifs or mox series. I currently have the moxf6 which is super light and I just pop it in my mox bag that goes over my shoulders like a back pack. I have used logic for years but I purchased the video on the mox and now I think it’s just easier and more convenient to compose without a computer if it’s just synth sounds. Now I figure why bother connecting computers, sound cards, wires, deal with midi data communication issues etc when it’s easy to create on the synth? Good luck with your choice. I prefer the feel of weighted keys but the moxf8 is still not portable in my eyes.

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: September 30, 2014 @ 10:56 AM
anotherscott
Total Posts:  653
Joined  06-30-2010
Drums& - 26 September 2014 08:03 PM