mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Activate Master mode from another keyboard"

     
Posted on: June 03, 2013 @ 05:15 AM
prodigio@hotmail.it
Avatar
Total Posts:  14
Joined  04-27-2013
status: Regular

Hi, I’m an owner of a S90ES and a MOTIF XF. I’m trying to control the S90ES via the MOTIF XF and the only thing I can not seem to activate it (through the program change) is the MASTER mode of S90ES.
What are the LSB and MSB that allow you to switch to master of S90ES and that allow me to position myself on a specific master bank location?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 05, 2013 @ 07:59 PM
prodigio@hotmail.it
Avatar
Total Posts:  14
Joined  04-27-2013
status: Regular

Someone please?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 15, 2013 @ 03:58 AM
Bad_Mister
Avatar
Total Posts:  36648
Joined  07-30-2002
status: Moderator

Master mode was designed to control, not be controlled. There is no way to change a Master with MSB/LSB commands. It is designed to send such commands to external devices (not receive them)

We understand your request, it would be nice if when controlling everything you could control the ES and have it control everything else, but that was not the design concept. The idea was to use Master mode to control both the Internal XF and your External devices.

The only thing you can do is advance through your Master programs with a Foot Switch set to send “PC INC” (Program Change Increment).

This has been used affectively by many… Place the Foot switch under the device you are using as your master keyboard (your Motif XF) but connect it to the ES… When you want the ES to send changes to the rest of your rig, step on the FS to advance your ES.

UTILITY > [F4] CONTROLLER ASSIGN > [SF3] FT SW
Set FS CTRL NO = “PC INC”

The only other method would be to send a System Exclusive message to the ES (page 51 of the S90 ES Data List Booklet) using the Motif XF’s sequencer.

F0 43 10 7F 00 0A 00 00 dd F7

Where “dd” is a value 00-7F (0-127)

By inserting this string in the XF sequencer you can have the S90 ES switch Masters… For example:

F0 43 10 7F 00 0A 00 00 03 F7 would recall MASTER 004 on the S90ES

F0 _ start of Sysex
43 _ Yamaha ID
10 _ Parameter Change, initial device
7F 00 _ S90ES Product ID
0A 00 00 _ High-Mid-Low Address of the Master Select parameter
dd _ Data Byte (value)
F7 _ end of Sysex

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: June 15, 2013 @ 05:02 AM
prodigio@hotmail.it
Avatar
Total Posts:  14
Joined  04-27-2013
status: Regular

Thank you very very much…
there is a command to be sent via sysex to run the mute a track in master mode on my S90ES?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 23, 2014 @ 03:14 PM
Duffage
Total Posts:  14
Joined  02-02-2005
status: Regular

Great info!
The only other method would be to send a System Exclusive message to the ES (page 51 of the S90 ES Data List Booklet) using the Motif XF’s sequencer.

F0 43 10 7F 00 0A 00 00 dd F7

Where “dd” is a value 00-7F (0-127)

By inserting this string in the XF sequencer you can have the S90 ES switch Masters… For example:

F0 43 10 7F 00 0A 00 00 03 F7 would recall MASTER 004 on the S90ES

F0 _ start of Sysex
43 _ Yamaha ID
10 _ Parameter Change, initial device
7F 00 _ S90ES Product ID
0A 00 00 _ High-Mid-Low Address of the Master Select parameter
dd _ Data Byte (value)
F7 _ end of Sysex

So, to recall Master 123, the string would look like this?

F0 43 10 7F 00 0A 00 00 122 F7

Thanks,
Steve

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 23, 2014 @ 07:55 PM
stoneb3
Total Posts:  846
Joined  06-05-2011
status: Guru
Duffage - 23 December 2014 03:14 PM

Great info!
The only other method would be to send a System Exclusive message to the ES (page 51 of the S90 ES Data List Booklet) using the Motif XF’s sequencer.

F0 43 10 7F 00 0A 00 00 dd F7

Where “dd” is a value 00-7F (0-127)

By inserting this string in the XF sequencer you can have the S90 ES switch Masters… For example:

F0 43 10 7F 00 0A 00 00 03 F7 would recall MASTER 004 on the S90ES

F0 _ start of Sysex
43 _ Yamaha ID
10 _ Parameter Change, initial device
7F 00 _ S90ES Product ID
0A 00 00 _ High-Mid-Low Address of the Master Select parameter
dd _ Data Byte (value)
F7 _ end of Sysex


So, to recall Master 123, the string would look like this?

F0 43 10 7F 00 0A 00 00 122 F7

Thanks,
Steve

No, substitute 7A for 122. Thus:  F0 43 10 7F 00 0A 00 00 7A F7

From the above cited Data List on page 51 you will find a Hexadecimal conversion chart. (7A =122).

Stone

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 23, 2014 @ 08:24 PM
Duffage
Total Posts:  14
Joined  02-02-2005
status: Regular

Thank you very much!

Steve

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: October 11, 2020 @ 10:00 AM
Keyflow
Total Posts:  4
Joined  10-11-2020
status: Newcomer

Hello Bad Mister.

I’ve created a Sysex (F0 43 10 7F 00 0A 00 00 7A F7) for my S90ES, but it doesn’t respond. I can’t get the S90ES to switch a Master Mode Preset. The small lamp blinks when he receives the message, but nothing changes. Please Help!

Info:
My Yamaha S90ES is connected with logic on a Mac osx 10.15 through a Emu X1 midi hub interface.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: October 11, 2020 @ 05:01 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  11529
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend
Keyflow - 11 October 2020 10:00 AM

Hello Bad Mister.

I’ve created a Sysex (F0 43 10 7F 00 0A 00 00 7A F7) for my S90ES, but it doesn’t respond. I can’t get the S90ES to switch a Master Mode Preset. The small lamp blinks when he receives the message, but nothing changes. Please Help!

Info:
My Yamaha S90ES is connected with logic on a Mac osx 10.15 through a Emu X1 midi hub interface.

Welcome to the forum.

Offhand, I can think of two things to check…
1) The third byte in the SysEx message ("10") is the Device Number, in this case Device #1. Make sure that in Utility mode your S90ES Device Number is set to either “1” or “all”. See page 166 of the Owner’s Manual.

2) The message will only work if the S90ES is in Master mode. The message won’t cause the mode to switch to Master if the S90ES is in a different mode.

If neither of those helps, then the problem is likely that the MIDI interface is mangling the SysEx message, which is not an uncommon problem with some interfaces.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: October 11, 2020 @ 11:28 PM
Keyflow
Total Posts:  4
Joined  10-11-2020
status: Newcomer

Thanx for your reply.
I’ve checked both things, but still nothing. I also replaced the EMU X1 with just an USB cable so my MAC is connected with the S90 without an interface.

Here are my settings in the Utility:
TAB CH: Basic RcvCh: OMNI, DEVICE NO. ALL, KBD TransCH: 1
TAB SWITCH: BANK SEL on, PGMChange on, CtrlChange: mode 1, LocalCtrl: on, RcvBulk: protect
TAB SYNC: MIDI, Clock out: on, SeqCtrl: in/out
TAB OTHER: MIDI IN/OUT: USB, THRUPORT 1

Hope you can help!!

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: October 12, 2020 @ 04:34 AM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  11529
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend
Keyflow - 11 October 2020 11:28 PM

Thanx for your reply.

You’re welcome.

 

Keyflow -

I’ve checked both things, but still nothing. I also replaced the EMU X1 with just an USB cable so my MAC is connected with the S90 without an interface.

Which Mac OS are you running? Which version of the Yamaha USB-MIDI Driver is installed on the Mac?

 

Keyflow -

Here are my settings in the Utility:
TAB CH: Basic RcvCh: OMNI, DEVICE NO. ALL, KBD TransCH: 1
TAB SWITCH: BANK SEL on, PGMChange on, CtrlChange: mode 1, LocalCtrl: on, RcvBulk: protect
TAB SYNC: MIDI, Clock out: on, SeqCtrl: in/out
TAB OTHER: MIDI IN/OUT: USB, THRUPORT 1

Hope you can help!!

Those settings appear to be appropriate.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: October 12, 2020 @ 08:10 AM
Keyflow
Total Posts:  4
Joined  10-11-2020
status: Newcomer

MAC OSX: 10.15.6
YAMAHA USB DRIVER: 1.3.2-2

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: October 12, 2020 @ 12:35 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  11529
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend
Keyflow - 12 October 2020 08:10 AM

MAC OSX: 10.15.6
YAMAHA USB DRIVER: 1.3.2-2

That driver is correct. In fact, everything you’ve done seemed to be proper, which caused me to wonder why the SysEx message isn’t working. So I dug a bit deeper…

The fourth and fifth bytes of the message, “7F” and “00”, should be the Model ID for the S90ES. However, I checked the S90ES Data List, and found a discrepancy. In some places that fifth byte is indeed shown as “00”, but elsewhere in the Data List it’s shown as “01”. With some further sleuthing I determined that the “00” ID is for the Motif ES, not for the S90ES - “01” is apparently proper for the S90ES.

So, try this…
F0 43 10 7F 01 0A 00 00 7A F7
...which should select Master #123 on the S90ES.

Please let us know if that works, since if it does the previous posts in this thread all have that model ID (fifth byte) incorrect. Of course, that would also mean the S90ES Data List has several errors as well.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: October 13, 2020 @ 08:37 AM
Keyflow
Total Posts:  4
Joined  10-11-2020
status: Newcomer

That’s it! thanx!!!!
S90ES F0 43 10 7F 01
MOTIF XS F0 43 10 7F 03

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: October 13, 2020 @ 12:14 PM
5pinDIN
Avatar
Total Posts:  11529
Joined  09-16-2010
status: Legend
Keyflow - 13 October 2020 08:37 AM

That’s it! thanx!!!!
S90ES F0 43 10 7F 01
MOTIF XS F0 43 10 7F 03

You’re welcome, and thanks for verifying that what I determined is correct.

For those interested…
In all cases on pages 57 and 58 of the S90ES Data List, where the second Model ID byte (fifth byte of the SysEx message) is given as “00”, that should actually be “01”. System Exclusive messaging information on pages 55 and 56 is accurate.

  [ Ignore ]  


 
     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ HOW TO SET DELAY TEMPO?
Next Topic:

    how do I assign a patch and use foot switch? ››