mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Question on MIDI"

Posted on: August 11, 2020 @ 04:01 AM
Sevano
Total Posts:  18
Joined  08-21-2016

Hi there

I just acquired a SY77 with the intent of adding more FM type sounds to my motif XF.
I have built quite a number of patterns in the xf’s pattern mode and would like to “import” and replace some of the voices in some of the tracks.

I am totally new to MIDI as I have always been making music onboard the xf.

For my quest above, do I need any other hardware, or a DAW software, besides the usual 5pin MIDI cables?

My basic understanding of MIDI is that it only transmit data, so I’m not sure if I need other hardware to “import” the sounds of another keyboard into the xf.

I have tried reading the xf owner manual but have not been able to find something to address specifically what I am trying to achieve.

Any advice will be much appreciated!

Thanks!

Sean

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: August 11, 2020 @ 05:55 AM
5pinDIN
Total Posts:  11891
Joined  09-16-2010

An XF Pattern can “play” the SY77 by connecting a cable from the XF’s MIDI-Out to the SY77’s MIDI-In. Each XF Track can be set for MIDI Transmit Channel and whether the Track data will be applied internally (XF), externally (SY77), or to both. The settings are accessed by pressing [F3] while in Pattern Play mode.

See page 169 of the XF Reference Manual for details.

What the SY77 plays will depend on how it’s set up.

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: August 12, 2020 @ 05:40 AM
Sevano
Joined  08-21-2016

Many thanks! I should have read the reference manual instead haha. Will do so and report here if I encounter further issues.

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: September 12, 2020 @ 03:29 AM
Sevano
Joined  08-21-2016