mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "“Illegal file” error when trying to load 80s Pop/Rock Volume I Voice Bank for Motif XS / XF / MOXF"

Posted on: November 07, 2013 @ 07:50 AM
DHardmanJr
Total Posts:  4
Joined  11-07-2013

Hello everyone.  This is my first post, so first a little introduction.  I just purchased a MOXF6, which is my first Yamaha synth since a PortaSound MK-100 back in the 80s. After that I had both an Ensoniq SD-1 and ZR-76.  And finally a Roland Juno G which had a failed screen ... hence my switch back to Yamaha. So far so good on the MOX6, I really like it.  I’m primarily a guitarist but I learned to play the piano first, so still like to mess around with keys.

I was excited to see a Voice Bank on Motifator for 80s Pop/Rock Volume I which says that the MOXF is supported.  I downloaded the XF version and when I try to load it I see some of the sound names going by as if it is loading and then see the message “Illegal file” and it stops loading. 

Can anyone shed any light on this? 

Thanks,
Dave

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 07, 2013 @ 08:11 AM
Bad_Mister
Total Posts:  36620
Joined  07-30-2002

Make sure you have updated your MOXF to the latest firmware, there have been two updates in the last month. Version 1.03 is the latest.

[ Ignore ]  

Posted on: November 07, 2013 @ 08:15 AM
5pinDIN
Total Posts:  11891
Joined  09-16-2010

From page 63 of the MOXF Owner’s Manual:
Illegal file
The file specified for loading is unusable by this instrument or cannot be loaded in the current mode.

Are you loading the file as Type “all”? What happens if you just load Voices, using Type “all voice”?