mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

newProducts [YOK]

rssFeeds [Syndicate]

forumforum

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "Motif XS VST Cubase 7.5 (advanced?) questions"

Posted on: August 17, 2014 @ 11:55 AM
funkyfish
Total Posts:  5
Joined  12-13-2008

Hi everyone - I’ve been a happy owner of a Motif XS 8 for 6 years, love the workflow of composing w/it and that with the help of reading these forums, I’ve always been able to resolve any problems without having to post a question here. But there is a first time for everything I guess… so I hope one of the more experienced folks/gurus can help.

I am an amateur songwriter, but I did give in to the temptation of the current large discount for a Cubase 7.5 upgrade from Cubase AI4 and have patiently been trying to learn how to use it in an integrated way w/my XS8 thru the FW connection with my 2013 iMac. I’ve read many of the threads and watched many of Steinberg’s youtube videos but have a few problems and if anyone could offer any help that’d be fantastic! I know BadMister urges everyone to state what they are trying to achieve first: I am trying to do audio editing (largely vocals w/Variaudio 2) and other final midi & audio clean-ups in Cubase to songs that include both Midi and Audio recorded in the XS8. My current song as it is in my Motif includes a couple of midi tracks w/normal and user voices (from the Motif XSpanded downloads), as well as audio recorded directly into the Motif on three audio tracks - bass, guitar and vocals. To move final editing into Cubase, here is what I did: First, I loaded my .XOA file into the Motif (so I have all user voices/audio in there). Then I opened my song w/the Import Motif XS song function in Cubase from a .X0A file. Then I synchronize the Motif XS VST as a rack instrument from the Motif to the computer so the right mix a