mySoftware [Updates]

Once you create a user profile on Motifator and update with the appropriate information, the updates shown here will be specific to you.

rssFeeds [Syndicate]


forumforum
 

Old Motifator threads are available in the Archive.

Viewing topic "sampling for live gig"

     
Posted on: December 22, 2008 @ 01:03 PM
bayoukatz
Total Posts:  31
Joined  09-18-2007
status: Regular

I’ve been playing in a very successful band for about 4 yrs.  I would like to start using the sequencer on my Motif ES to create samples to enable us to fill the songs with the instruments that where used to record the songs origionaly.  I’m a newby at this.  Where do I start?  Do I need computer software?  I use an ES8 on bottom, and an ES7 on top.

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 22, 2008 @ 08:58 PM
salsamac
Total Posts:  649
Joined  06-24-2005
status: Guru

Re: sampling for live gig

I find the easiest way for me to use samples, is to record it in software, export it and then load and save it to a user voice in es.
Then edit the note in song or pattern mode to trigger the sample
salsa

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 22, 2008 @ 11:07 PM
bayoukatz
Total Posts:  31
Joined  09-18-2007
status: Regular

Re: sampling for live gig

Which sofware do you use and where did you get it?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: December 25, 2008 @ 07:59 PM
salsamac
Total Posts:  649
Joined  06-24-2005
status: Guru

Re: sampling for live gig

I use Cakewalk Sonar.
I got it from cakewalk.
salsa

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 22, 2009 @ 01:07 PM
d80665
Total Posts:  0
Joined  01-22-2009
status: Newcomer

Sampling for live gig

Hello all!

Newbie to the entire Motif XS owning world.  Apparantly I did my research and bought a keyboard that will live forever.

I too use samples in live performances as intro’s or mid-song breaks.  Just experamenting I pulled a song into Adobe’s Audition and saved just the intro as a .wav file.  Dropped the .wav file onto a USB drive and loaded it into the keyboard to play on a single key(note).  This seems to work well except the volume level if the .wav file is too low.  I’ve looked for a volume setting that would just affect that specific element but I can’t seem to find one.  My question is, other than “tweaking” the volume level in Adobe Audition is there a seperate element volume control somewhere?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 22, 2009 @ 02:38 PM
KMK
Total Posts:  0
Joined  07-29-2002
status: Newcomer

Re: Sampling for live gig

I too use sampling for intros, endings, etc.  I personally use Soundforge for all of my editing of samples, songs, etc.  To increase the volume of these files, try Normalizing the file.  This will probably fix your problem.

Kenny

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 26, 2009 @ 11:00 AM
d80665
Total Posts:  0
Joined  01-22-2009
status: Newcomer

Re: Sampling for live gig

Thanks for the tip.  I was unsure if the “Normalize” command was part of the Motif or part of the computer software.  Once I got it figured out I was able to increase the volume save the new file to the USB drive and bring it into the Motif ready to go.

I have related issues I’m now dealing with…

Any thoughts on how to have a .wav file auto repeat?

  [ Ignore ]  

Posted on: January 27, 2009 @ 04:16 AM
meatballfulton
Avatar
Total Posts:  3016
Joined  01-25-2005
status: Guru

Re: Sampling for live gig

“Any thoughts on how to have a .wav file auto repeat?”

Simple, set it to loop in the sample edit menu on the Motif.

  [ Ignore ]  


 
     


Previous Topic:

‹‹ A/D Input
Next Topic:

    Motif Sounds on Computer ››